Bangor Court House is an iconic Victorian listed building on Bangor seafront. It was built as a bank before being converted to a court house, but has been empty since 2013. After a seven-year process, the building is now owned by Open House – a local music and arts charity.
Opened on 1st January 1866 to accommodate the expanding population resulting from the arrival of the railway in 1865, the original building was the third largest branch in Northern Ireland of the Belfast Banking Company. It is a two-storey, five bay building in the Italianate Classical style.
History Through Postcards
Working with other collectors and museums, including the North Down Museum, Alan McMullan has compiled the only photographic index of Bangor postcards which currently stands at 3900 cards. From this collection he has created a history of the Bangor Court House from 1890 to present day.